ASRock H81 BTC 2.0 and Gigabyte RX570 - Setup problems

• Hi all. I'm new to mining and am having real problems setting up my ASRock H81 with a single Gigabyte RX570. I've followed the instructions that say to set the primary graphics as PCI-E and to disable onboard graphics as well as disabling the iGP multi-monitor support, but try as I might I cannot get any output from the GPU's HDMI port. GPU is powered by its onboard 8-way power connector. Mobo 4-way PCI-E power connectors are NOT connected yet as mobo manual states these are only needed when running multiple GPU's.
    PiMP boots and loads fine when onboard graphics are enabled, but I can't tell what it's doing when they're disabled as I can't get anything to display. PiMP isn't accessible via SSH when onboard graphics are disabled so I'm guessing I'm sat at the BIOS setup or some sort of error message.
    Any ideas how I can get HDMI out from the RX570 ?
    Happy to provide more info on setup if needed.

Edit: GPU is in PCI-E 16x slot. No riser.
    Edit: Further reading suggests that maybe the 4-way PCI-E power connectors on the mobo should be connected (???) Would this cause problems as the GPU is already powered through its own 8-way power connector ?

• do you have another machine to ssh to the box since you cant get video working? my asrock does the same thing once ive disabled onboard and igp multi. to roll back, find the cmos reset jumper and shunt it, that way you can reenable onbard.

another method I'm seeing people do is to install teamviewer which is what im working on right now. from what i gather you need to have a connected monitor to do the first setup of teamviewer, although i could be wrong at that.