Welcome to the PiMP Mining Community Forum.

Coin/crypto news, miner.farm and getpimp.org announcements, guides, and tips.

Ledger Nano S usb wallet install for 64 bit Linux

• Beta Team

If you are trying to install Ledger-Nano-S for your wallet to store coins, here are some hints.
    I will be please to answer questions, but at times, lack of power necessitates my attention elsewhere

here goes

I'm new to Linux, and some installs are more "challenging"
    Ledger-Nano-S is one of these hurdles

to install a Leder Nano S wallet to store coins

follow the links that come with the wallet

you need to set up a password, recovery phase (24 words), and a pin.

if all else fails, RECORD THESE IN A NON INTERNET ACCESSIBLE LOCATION.

in Downloads you have saved ledger-live-desktop-1.10.0-linux-x86_64.AppImage
    ( cd Downloads for these commands to work)

arctic@LapTopper:~/Downloads$ chmod +x ledger-live-desktop-1.10.0-linux-x86_64.AppImage ```
    in my case no output appeared

` arctic@LapTopper:~/Downloads$ ./ledger-live-desktop-1.10.0-linux-x86_64.AppImage `
    Ledger Live 1.10.0
    Checking for update
    Generated new staging user ID: 7nnnlnl9-8nln-5nll-8nnn-clnnlllnnlnd  n=number, l=letter
    Update for version 1.10.0 is not available (latest version: 1.10.0, downgrade is disallowed).

My Ledger-Nano-S at this point could not be detected
    so further steps were required.

One has to check if you are in the plugdev group. I was.

But I had to Add the udev rules

Enter the following command to automatically add the rules and reload udev: 

`    wget -q -O - https://raw.githubusercontent.com/LedgerHQ/udev-rules/master/add_udev_rules.sh | sudo bash `

after this my Nano connected, and I was able to add currencies to it.
    warning - 3 seems to be the max..

below this summary, my linux computer is called LapTopper, and my user name is arctic.

=====================================================================
    gory details below.