<- Return to getpimp.org

How to Write the PiMP OS Image using Windows

• I'm not a novice with linux how ever I've tried everything listed here, including fresh formats and etc etc multiple different combos to get a copy working how ever I'm not having very much success... have tried using different storage systems ie ssd , sd, usb , have trying different methods ie dmde, hdd, rufus etc etc. and multiple different variateions. any help ?

• Support

@jdbgo2shop Hello.
    And what is your issue? Can you make post in Troubleshooting section https://forum.getpimp.org/category/8/troubleshooting with logs, errors, screenshots etc.? This will help to understand the problem and solve it. Thanks.

• Staff

Sometimes, we try to hard :). The process is simple. Just bit for bit copy the image to an ssd. All the methods you are trying above place an image with a boot agent. Think more along the lines of how you would make a raspberry pi bootable sd card, vs burning a live iso to a thumb drive.

• This post is deleted!

• Staff

Here is an alternative method using win32diskimager. This works for disks that are connected via USB and already have a drive letter visible to Windows.

Run the exe:

0_1515265071862_win32-01.png

If it sees the drive letter, make sure it is the right one!!!! And then pick the pimp img file that you unzipped and then click Write.

0_1515265082035_win32-02.png

Anything other than this? It didn't write properly....

0_1515265087586_win32-03.png

• Can I put it on a thumb drive in windows then boot that on my rig and put it on the ssd in the rig so it boots from there?

• Support

@doug You can juggle an image as you like. But you need to write it down in one of the recommended ways.

• This post is deleted!

• I did exactly as prescribed over here (btw my 16gb wasn't big enough, had to buy 32 gb!) and then I tried to boot my asus b250 mining expert (having enabled compatibility boot in Bios - I know that much!) and it won't boot at all... Why??!